House Blues…

After my drastic living room furniture makeover a few years ago, I am still very happy with the decor. I have taken my time collection and adding accessories to create a look I like. To me, it’s warm, cozy, and comfy. But, after spotting a vase at an antique sale last spring I decided the room could use a touch of blue. My main color is orange and blue is its complement so I knew it would work…I snapped up the gorgeous vase, complete with wooden base for only $30…it was marked $50 but it was the last day of the sale and they were making deals. It now lives on the entertainment center…

A couple of weeks ago my mom and I went to an estate sale (this is seriously what we do for fun!) and I really hit the jackpot…I got an Oaxacan drip glazed ceramic vase for $4. From looking around online and comparing the markings with others I have found, I think it’s from the 40s-50s. Anyway, the value doesn’t matter much to me–I like it and that’s what I look for when antiquing. It is also on one of the entertainment center shelves…

So to bring that touch of blue to the other side of the room I am looking for one (or two) toss pillows…definitely one for the couch and maybe another for the chair. Here is my room…

Just for fun, let’s look at the bare-bones room after the furniture purchases in 08…

So back to my current dilemma–I know I want an oblong shaped pillow but beyond that, I am not sure what to go with. Before buying them, bringing them home to try, and relying on my husband’s reluctant opinion I thought I would solicit YOUR advice. This will help me narrow down some choices before hitting the stores. I will save my opinion for later.

So, take a look at my room, consider the pillows and tell me what you think will work the best. I really do value your input, so speak your mind! Thanks in advance. 🙂

First five pillows from World Market. Next four are form Pier 1 Imports.

I am linking this post up with Susan over at Between Naps on the Porch for Metamorphosis Monday. Visit her blog and check out everyone’s fabulous before and afters.

Between Naps on the Porch

4 thoughts on “House Blues…

  1. Pillow 1 is my favorite too! I also like the 5th one, but the blue is not as prominent in that one. Do I spy a new wall hanging from Africa?

  2. Okay, I had some formatting issues so the post is a bit different now. Pillow #1 is still the same but, Kasey, I think #5 is now different! 🙂

    And yes, you do spot a new wall hanging from Africa!

  3. Stopped by from Met Monday because I loved the pillow in the photo. And lo and behold, you want a vote! Well, I vote for that pillow!! It is cleaner design, and the colors are more subtle which I think would go well in your room. The pillow is labelled “pillow 5”, but in reality it is the 4th picture from the top.

    That’s my 2 cents!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

