2 New Favorite Recipes

After the holidays, I always end up with odds and ends of baking products I don’t normally buy that are left from various recipes I have made. In an effort to get rid of some of these ingredients (chocolate chips, baking chocolate, marshmallows, graham crackers, etc.) I was keeping my eye out for some great new desserts to try. I found the first one in an old issue of Southern Living at my mom’s house and I found the second recipe on this blog via this blog.

Not the prettiest of desserts, but oh, so good!

Rocky Road Crock Pot Cake (from the October 08 issue of Southern Living)

1 pkg German chocolate cake mix (18.25 oz)
1 pkg instant chocolate pudding mix (3.9 oz)
3 large eggs, slightly beaten
1 C sour cream
1/3 C butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla
3 ¼ C milk, divided: 1 ¼ and 2 C divisions
1 pkg. chocolate cook-and-serve pudding mix (3.4 oz)
½ C chopped pecans (I omitted this ingredient since I don’t like pecans)
1 ½ C mini marshmallows
1 C semi-sweet chocolate chips (I threw in about a handful of white chocolate chips, also)

Beat cake mix with next 5 ingredients plus 1 ¼ C milk with an electric mixer for 2 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.

Pour batter into lightly greased 4 qt. crock pot (My crock pot is a little larger and it worked fine).

Heat remaining 2 C milk in non-aluminum saucepan, heating and stirring just until scalded.

Sprinkle cook-and-serve pudding over the batter and slowly pour hot milk over the pudding.

Cover and cook on low 3 ½ hours. Meanwhile heat chopped pecans in a small nonstick skillet on medium-low heat, 3-5 minutes until lightly toasted and fragrant.

Turn off slow cooker when time is up, or when cake seems set and not soupy or jiggly (In reality, it took about 4 hours for my cake to not be what I considered jiggly).

Sprinkle cake with pecans, marshmallows and choc.chips. Let stand 15 min. or until marshmallows slightly melted. Serve warm with ice cream (Ice cream MAKES this cake).

I served this dessert to company and they loved it! Everyone complimented it and cleaned their bowls…some even had seconds! It was a hit! Leftovers can be refrigerated once cake is mostly cooled. For reheating, place in a microwave safe bowl and heat for about 30 seconds, then top with ice cream.


Photo from One More Moore, as I forgot to take any pictures of my own PB Bars.

Peanut Butter Bars

1 c. butter
1 c peanut butter (I started out using creamy but had to use end up using about 1/4 cup crunchy, also)
2 c graham cracker crumbs (I only had regular graham crackers, not the crumbs you can buy, so I used one sleeve of graham crackers, crushed)
2 c powdered sugar
1 1/2 c semi-sweet chocolate chips
4 Tbsp peanut butter (Here I used 2 tbsp creamy and 2 tbsp crunchy)

Directions: Melt butter & 1 c peanut butter. Add graham cracker crumbs and powdered sugar. Mix until well blended. Press into ungreased 9″x 13″ pan. Melt chocolate chips with the 4 Tbsp peanut butter (either on stovetop or microwave–I did it in the microwave) and spread on top of graham cracker mixture. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour. Note: I used all natural peanut butter which I can only assume is why my mixture would not “press” into the pan–I had to pour it. Also, when serving, my bars were somewhat crumbly, which I also assume may have been caused by the type of peanut butter. But, this is NO WAY affected the taste and the pan was quite literally licked clean.

2 thoughts on “2 New Favorite Recipes

  1. I just made those peanut butter bars. We are having friends over for dinner, and I didn’t have any dessert planned. I had every ingredient, so this was perfect! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

