Tablescape Thursday

My husband, Jason, is a deacon at the small church we attend. We don’t live in a very large house, but have been trying to open our home to guests with more regularity in the past year or so. To this end, we decided to have the other deacons, along with their wives, over for dinner before Thanksgiving. We only have one dining area with a table that seats four so we borrowed a large table from our church and set it up in the middle of the living room. It worked out very well for our party of 8.

Tablecloth: Borrowed from a friend

Napkins: Fieldcrest from Target

Napkin Rings: Passed down from my grandmother

Dinner Plates: Butler’s Pantry by Lenox

Bread Plates: Pavillion by Princess House

Flatware: Towle

Candlesticks: Lady Anne by Gorham

Candles: Country Living, from Home Goods

S&P Shakers: Found at an antique store

I had really never had a sit-down dinner for more than 6 people before and it made me realize a few things! I realized that I don’t even have a set of 8 placemats and I only have one set of 8 napkin rings and napkins. All my other sets are either just four or six. Maybe I can find some good deals after Christmas and use my Christmas money to add to my linen collection.

Be sure and visit Tablescape Thursday over at Between Naps on the Porch for more fabulous tables.

4 thoughts on “Tablescape Thursday

  1. Pretty table so warm and inviting. Good for you for making an effort to have more people over. I find I have to make the effort. It’s so easy for me to be lazy and not invite friends like I should.

  2. It is a lovely gesture to invite people over. It is something I always want to do as well but like you, I don’t have quite enough linens and other accoutrements. Slowly I am gaining some.

Leave a Reply

