Oreo Truffles

This Christmas season, I decided to try a new treat: oreo truffles. They were quite yummy so I thought I would share the recipe. I got this recipe from combining a couple of versions of the recipe from All Recipes and from my principal, Paige.

Oreo Truffles

Ingredients:

Block of cream cheese

Bag of Oreo cookies

2 tbsp oil

Bag of chocolate chips

Basic Ingredients

Instructions:

1. Allow cream cheese to soften at room temperature.

2. Place oreos in plastic bag to crush. I have heard of people crushing the oreos in a food processor, but I do not have one of those. I put my oreos in a bag and first crushed them with my hands then kept rolling over them with a can of green beans to get them finely crushed. Classy, I know.

The crushed Oreos

3. Reserve about 1/4 cup of crushed oreos to sprinkle of finished truffles. Add cream cheese to the bag of oreos and work in your hands until all white streaks are blended into black. Place the bag in the fridge for about 30 minutes or just until it becomes stiff.

The oreos and cream cheese mixed together.

4. Pull them out of the fridge and roll into balls. Place on wax or parchment paper on a cookie sheet and return to fridge while you melt your chocolate.

Rolled into balls and ready to be dipped in chocolate!

5. To melt chocolate, put the chips in a microwave safe bowl, add 2 tablespoons of oil, and microwave. My bag of chocolate chips gave instructions on melting.

6. Once the chocolate is melted, begin dipping your truffles and return them to the parchment/wax paper covered cookie sheet. Sprinkle with reserve cookie crumbs. Return to fridge to harden. Before serving, let sit at room temp for about 30 minutes.

I used the "two-fork" method for dipping the truffles.

Yummy!

Note:

  • For dipping the truffles in the chocolate, I used the “two-fork” method. You stab the oreo balls on either side and roll around in the chocolate to cover. Lift the truffles and pass from fork to fork to remove excess chocolate.
  • This made about 35-40 truffles depending on the size.
  • As you know, I have a mint obsession so when I went to the store to get my supplies for truffle making, I could NOT pass up buying the mint oreos and putting my own mint-y twist on this recipe. The recipe is the same except that I used the mint flavored oreos and covered them with white chocolate. My original intention was to drizzle milk chocolate on top of the milk chocolate for this version, but that didn’t happen! Maybe next time.

Mint Oreo & White Chocolate Version

Ingredients for mint oreo truffles

One thought on “Oreo Truffles

Leave a Reply

