Traveling

Recently, CNN ran a story about the 8 places every American should see…

Their recommendations were the Sears Tower, Gettysburg, Yellowstone National Park, New York Harbor, Monticello, Graceland, Pearl Harbor, and the Historic Ebenezer Baptist Church. I have only been to one place on this list: the New York Harbor. What about you? Do you even agree with this list? What places would be on your list?

Compare that with a list of the 15 Places Every Kid Should See by Budget Travel…I have been to four of the fifteen landmarks.

As for me, I think it would also be nice to visit each of the 50 states. The list below illustrates which states I have visited…

* Alabama
* Alaska
* Arizona
* Arkansas
* California (had a layover here, but I won’t count that)
* Colorado
* Connecticut
* Delaware
* Florida
* Georgia
* Hawaii
* Idaho
* Illinois (had a layover here, but I don’t count that)
* Indiana
* Iowa
* Kansas
* Kentucky
* Louisiana
* Maine
* Maryland
* Massachusetts
* Michigan
* Minnesota
* Mississippi
* Missouri
* Montana
* Nebraska
* Nevada
* New Hampshire
* New Jersey
* New Mexico
* New York
* North Carolina
* North Dakota
* Ohio
* Oklahoma
* Oregon
* Pennsylvania
* Rhode Island
* South Carolina
* South Dakota
* Tennessee
* Texas
* Utah
* Vermont
* Virginia
* Washington
* West Virginia
* Wisconsin
* Wyoming

As you can see, I still have quite a few states to visit…I have been to a little less than half of them. In addition to visiting each state, here are some specific sites I would like to see: Grand Canyon, Mount Rushmore, Niagara Falls, Redwood National Forest in California, the lights in Marfa, the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, and more!

5 thoughts on “Traveling

  1. I haven’t been anywhere on CNN’s list. I think the Budget Travel’s list is a little better, I’ve been to 6 of those locations!
    I’d love to visit all 50 states, but have quite a ways to go.
    As for your list, Grand Canyon is freaking amazing! We really want to go back and spend more time there. We only got to visit a few hours on our way to CA driving the Farland’s U-Haul. SF is pretty neat, and you can visit Muir Woods which is nearby, much closer than Redwood Forest. Marfa was only ok, just kinda cool to say you’ve been.
    I think you’ve inspired me to do a similar post!

  2. We didn’t travel much when I was growing up, so I’m behind most people when it comes to states I’ve visited. I’ve been to 1 place from CNN’s list: Graceland. I’m not sure I’d put it on that list either. I’ve only been to 2 places on the kid’s list.

  3. Jessica, the Grand Canyon is one of those must-sees, I hope to make it happen soon!

    Kasey, my family didn’t do a ton of out of state traveling when I was growing up, either. I have done most of my traveling high school and after. The US just has such a variety of places to see…I hope to see more of them in my lifetime!

Leave a Reply

