Check that one off the list

When I was in high school my mom went back to school to get her Master’s degree. She was teaching full time and had children at home so it wasn’t a walk in the park. But, she persevered and was extremely happy for making the decision to get her Master’s; upon completion she immediately transitioned into an administrative role as an assistant principal. She has since become Director of Special Programs in a school district. Her advice to me was DON’T WAIT…get your Master’s when you are young right after you finish your undergrad. I followed her advice and I am glad I did!

I am not sure how other fields are, but in education it is becoming more and more common to have a graduate degree. At my graduation the speaker mentioned that only 9% of the nation’s people achieve a Master’s degree. While I don’t doubt that statistic for the nation as a whole, I know the percentage in education is a lot, lot higher than 9%. Maybe I will have to look that up. Anyway, I knew that getting a Masters would really help me, so for the past three years I have been attending part time at the University of North Texas and now I am finally DONE!

DSC03267

DSC03271

DSC03177

4 thoughts on “Check that one off the list

  1. Whoop! Good for you Michelle. I have one paper, one final and then one more class and I got my master’s. Classes were far easier with no kids then with kids. Love you guys.

  2. Congratulations! It is definitely hard work to teach full time and get a master’s. I was sleep deprived for an entire 3 years. I agree with you about the high percentage of teachers with graduate degrees. Lots of teachers at my former school had them, and one teacher had a doctoral degree.

  3. Teresa, Hello! I hope all the Rietjens are doing well…it’s good to hear from you. And don’t worry–you will finish someday. You have had even more bumps in the road than just kids…several moves, going to China, etc. 🙂

    Kasey, Thanks! We have a few teachers with doctoral degrees, also. That would be a A LOT of work.

Leave a Reply

