Bibliophile

books

Bibliophilia is the love of books. That would make me a bibliophile, because I am indeed a lover of books. Fiction, non-fiction, kids books, pop-up books–you name it and I probably like it. Or will at least give it a go. I have a vast array of interest when it comes to books and I am always looking for the next good book.

Oh, and when I say I love books, don’t underestimate that statement. We are in the 5th month of 2009 and I have read over 25 books (non-required…as in, not including ones I have had to read for school) this year. I am thinking this is probably above the national average. In fact, I just googled it and according to the Washington Post a 2007 survey indicated that 1 in 4 people went the whole year without finishing a book. That’s really sad.

So here are few I have read this year…

Right now, I have 3 new books (well, new to me) on my nightstand…

What do you like to read? Any recommendations?

9 thoughts on “Bibliophile

  1. I’m about to start The Mark of the Lion. Some of my favorite books are:
    Jane Eyre
    Rebecca
    Anything by Jane Austen
    Love and Respect
    Miss Invisible
    The Lord of the Rings Trilogy

  2. You will probably like Mark of the Lion–it’s good. I have read most of Jane Austen’s works but I do re-read them periodically. I also read Love and Respect last fall. I will admit I have never made it through Jane Eyre, but perhaps I shall try again this summer. I know I couldn’t make it through Lord of the Rings (although I like the movies). I couldn’t even make it through the Hobbit when it was required in 5th grade. : ) I am not familiar with Rebecca and Miss Invisible. Thanks for the suggestions!

  3. Oh, how I wish I liked to read more. I love reading blogs and magazines, but for some reason I don’t finish many books. I haven’t found any books I’ve been interested in since Harry Potter. Though I am thinking of trying the Twilight books.

  4. Jessica, I did like the Shopaholic series…I still need to check out the movie.

    And Kasey and Jessica, I would encourage you to both try out the Twilight series. It’s very well written. I started out saying I wouldn’t like it b/c it’s not my usual genre, but I finished those thousands of pages in about 4 days (I know, kinda embarrassing). And don’t let the movie discourage you from readin it, cause the books are WAY better than the movie was.

  5. Kasey, definitely read the Twilight books if you haven’t. I couldn’t imagine what all the fuss was about, but they really are wonderful. Michelle, Miss Invisible is a great beach read. Rebecca is a mystery by Daphne du Maurier.

  6. Oh! I thought of another great book a friend gave me. It’s called The Shepherd by Frederick Forsyth. It’s very short. You could read it in one sitting.

  7. Okay, I guess I like books, too! I just keep thinking of all these great books. Have you read The Proper Care and Feeding of Husbands by Dr. Laura? It is very convicting for wives.

  8. I have not heard of The Shepherd. I have heard of the one by Dr. Laura, but I have never really gotten in to her stuff before. My summer reading list if slowly starting to add up!

Leave a Reply

