It will never be the same

If you know me well, you know that one of my favorite TV shows of all time is 90210. After tonight, when I tell people that I will have to clarify by saying “the original.” That is because tonight, on the CW, an all-new 90210 will premiere. This is the “next generation” but I guarantee it cannot be as great as the first. I just can’t fathom it, but I will give it a chance. At 7 PM tonight, I will be watching. Along with other 20 and 30-somethings around the country, I will wait in anticipation to see if they can recreate what holds such a special place in our hearts. But, I bet by next week only the teeny-boppers who know nothing of the greatness that is the original Beverly Hills, 90210 will be the ones in front of the TV. Even Jennie Garth (aka Kelly Taylor) cautioned “the new 90210 is not about nostalgia.” We shall see.

Test your knowledge of the original 90210. Are you a true fan? I missed one question.

4 thoughts on “It will never be the same

  1. It’s actually kinda hard for me to decide…I have a lot of thoughts…

    For one, they seemed to be trying too hard…it’s like they crammed every dramatic teenage issue into one episode. Drugs, questionable activities in the parking lot, spoiled brat sweet 16 parties, cheating (relationships and in school), fights, revenge hooking up, etc. All they needed was a good pregnancy scare to round it all out.

    Also, parts of it were confusing to me…like they were acting as though this new principal and Kelly had gone to high school together, yet he was a new character. And they have Kelly’s half-sister, Erin, but they never mention David SIlver or of course, his wife, Donna. Weird. Also, they have the Peach Put and Nat, but what about Dylan? Wasn’t he the one who ended up buying the Peach Pit? And they show a girl that we are to assume is Andrea’s daughter but aren’t the ages a little off for that to be true? But, that’s probably just me being too interested in the “old” 90210 than in the new plot.

    It also seemed a little too over the top unbelievable. I mean, I know a lot of kids in BH probably are really, absurdly rich, but, come on–a private plane to San Fran to eat dinner. The “old” 90210, while showing some real rich kids never had that fake quality to it, in my opinion. And the two girls (Naomi and Erin Silver) getting matching tattoos in 8th grade? Whatever.

    Anyway, I wasn’t overly impressed, but I’m going to give it another week. : )

    Did you watch it?

  2. We watched the first episode and have the second on tape, but haven’t watched it yet. We had similar thoughts as you. We thought they tried to introduce way too many characters in the first episode. It was a bit difficult to keep up with. I wonder what a younger person who never saw the original would have thought about it.

  3. Well, I will hang in there for tonight’s episode and we’ll see how it goes. I am not all that impressed, but I like the original series so much, I am being sucked in by the characters that are left from that one. : )

Leave a Reply

