Paraben Paranoia

j0403712.jpg

For a while now I have been semi-interested in being more conscious about the chemicals and substances I put in my body and on my skin. I say semi-interested because I don’t want anyone to get the wrong idea about my zealousness on this issue. There’s been a lot of thinking, a lot of talking and that’s about it.  I mentioned a while back about getting rid of toxic household cleaners….well, that hasn’t happened…yet. Actually, for the most part, I haven’t done anything at all except read a lot about it.

But, now that I am going to a new chiropractor she has confirmed my suspicions.

TOXINS ARE BAD.

Duh, right? I mean, they are toxins, after all. Ha. Apparently not to the FDA.

Well, anyway, so after over a year of talking with Stephanie about how we really should use natural stuff, get rid of toxins, blah, blah, blah…I am actually taking some baby steps. I stress baby steps. So, as with anything that someone gets paranoid about, they share their concerns with anyone who cares (or even, people that couldn’t give a rip), so here you go…

First of all, if you don’t get anything else, get this–PARABENS are bad and they are in everything!! Seriously, it’s like you can’t get away from them. Look for fancy words like ethylparaben, propylparaben, and butylparaben.

Here are some other things I have learned:

  • Petrochemicals are bad. This stuff comes from petroleum and natural gas and they put it in hair products, body creams and facial cleaners (usually for it’s foaming action). Go ahead, go check your mousse or shaving cream.
  • Phthalates are worse. They cause premature development, reproduction issues, birth defects and have been linked to cancer. You can find these evil creatures in perfume, hairspray and deodorant. Oh yeah, and in fixatives and plasticizers. Isn’t that what everyone wants all over their armpits?
  • Formaldehyde. Okay, I have always heard this one but I thought they didn’t use it anymore. Think again.
  • Artificial Colors and Fragrances can cause a whole array of problems such as hyperactivity (that explains a lot about our current society), depression, cancer, etc. Some really bad ones are Toluene, Methylene Chloride, Nezyl Chloride, and Red #3. Stay away from Red #3, I repeat, stay away from Red #3.

Well, upon learning all of this information you would think I have rid my toxic filled household of all culprits. However, I haven’t ’cause then Jason and I would be walking around with greasy hair, dry skin, smelly armpits, and yellow teeth. Therefore, as I run out of j0411759.jpgj0411759.jpgproducts I currently own, I am replacing them with safer, more natural alternatives. It has taken me a long time to find a body wash, shampoo, conditioner, bubble bath, etc. that I really like and change is going to be hard.

I’ll update soon about product reviews and how we are doing with the change.

7 thoughts on “Paraben Paranoia

  1. The cleaning products were easy to change. I’ve been making my own for a while now. The beauty products are a different story…

  2. Yeah, even people who I know that are hard core on their health/beauty products still use regular toxin-filled deodorant. I mean, come on, we will live in Texas…we need some serious deodorant.

Leave a Reply

