Please fasten your seat belts

As some of you already know, Jason and I are headed to Japan in June. For two weeks. Needless to say, I am super excited. And nervous. I have been overseas one other time, in 2005, when I went to Italy for almost 3 weeks. However, I was extremely prepared for that trip and had studied the culture, especially the art and architecture, before leaving. My knowledge of Japanese culture is limited to my reading of the book, Memoirs of a Geisha. Okay, it’s not that bad, but seriously, I know next to nothing about Japan. Then why choose that country, you may ask? Well, we actually have a friend who lives there right now, thus making the trip actually affordable (not having to pay for accommodations for more than half of the time).

In light of this, I am asking for tips, advice, information, etc. Anyone been to Japan? Anyone have a list of “must sees” for Japan? Anyone have an idea of what to expect?

While searching for all things travel, I came across this column discussing tips on how to avoid being a stupid American overseas. I love #4 “Not Eating at the Local McDonald’s and Hard Rock”–while in Italy, I managed to avoid both of these eating establishments, although most of the group did not. And I agree with the columnist–Hard Rock t-shirts from exotic locales haven’t been cool since the 90s. Anyone who has been overseas, especially with college students, can relate to these tips!

Sushi, anyone? Guess I better brush up on my chopstick skills.

5 thoughts on “Please fasten your seat belts

  1. Hmm. No Hard Rock Cafe? I think I’d be on a 2 week fast in Japan!

    Sounds like fun and I’ll give you some money if you think you might be able to score me a Harley shirt from Tokyo.

    😉

  2. i’ve been to the narita airport in Japan…
    and when we were in Thailand, we had one night in Bangkok and made a special trip to the Hard Rock there, it’s one of my favorite memories, we had a crazy taxi driver. We didn’t even eat there, just got what I thought were cool souvenirs 🙂
    and the mcdonalds in chaing mai was just part of the experience, seeing what different foods were offered, connecting with other westerners…
    we ate a ton of local food, but sometimes it was nice to have something familiar, even if it was just trying their version of western food.

Leave a Reply

