Thanksgiving

Main Entry:
thanks·giv·ing  
Pronunciation:
\thaŋ(k)s-ˈgi-viŋ also ˈthaŋ(k)s-ˌ\
Function:
noun
Date:
1533

1: the act of giving thanks

2: a prayer expressing gratitude

3 a: a public acknowledgment or celebration of divine goodness

capitalized : thanksgiving day

[Taken from Merriam-Webster online]

Even with Thanksgiving (the holiday proper) come and gone, I am in a mood of thankfulness. I did not post last week due to being out of town…as if Jason’s grandparents would have Internet…or wait, even a computer. Anyway, I thought I would go ahead and share some of my gratitude, because it’s never too late to say thanks. Enjoy my acrostic!

Tristen and Taylor. These are my brother, Tim’s, daughters and have been a source of joy and hilarity for me for the past 9 years. How sweet it is to be an aunt of two of the best gals around.                                                                                                                         Husband. My husband, Jason, never ceases to surprise me. Life with him has been a winding road, with laughing all the way. No marriage is without valleys, but I am thankful to be sharing the journey of life with such a man as he.
Art. I am grateful for the creation of art. I find enjoyment in teaching art, learning about art, making art, and looking at art. This is a pleasure which God did not have to give us, yet chose to, anyway.
New beginnings. God is gracious enough to grant His people many fresh starts and this has been evident quite a few times in my life. Most recently, a group of people were giving the chance at a fresh start when beginning Providence Church in Garland, TX. I am thankful for this family and am pleased to be a part of it.
Kathleen. My mother, Kathleen Diane Cowart Glidewell, is my best friend and one of the strongest women I know. She has persevered through the tragic loss of a father at 11 years old, the tough illness of a sister, young motherhood, the tragic loss of a brother, a life changing accident with my father, the return to school and subsequently, work, to support a family, graduate school in her late 40s, and many more of life’s unexpected events. Her faith, courage, and contentedness is a powerful example and I couldn’t have asked for more.
Sisters-in-law. I have been blessed with Rachel and Susie, two fun and lively additions to our family. Not growing up with sisters, I was especially excited when my brothers both made such great choices when marrying! Rachel has been a part of our family in some form or fashion since I was in 4th grade and Susie came along when I was in 8th grade. Hooray for sisters-in-law!
Glidewells. Mainly, I wanted a place to fit in my father, Jerry Wayne Glidewell. Since getting older, I have come to realize more and more that other people just don’t have what I have. For so long, I was unaware that I was the minority when it came to how great my parents are and took it for granted. I have an amazing, hardworking, faithful father who never wavered in his commitment to his family. I am proud to be his daughter.
Individuality. I am constantly amazed at how different people can be…we have differing personalities, looks, likes, tastes, talents, etc. I am thankful for this diversity and that I have friends and family who represent so many unique traits.
Virtuous women. In addition to my mother and grandmother, I am surrounded by many coworkers, friends, and church ladies, who exhibit much virtue. As a 20-something, still learning (and struggling!) while growing as a Goldy woman and wife, I am thankful to have several wonderful examples to admire.
Instruction. I am fortunate to be in a place where freedom is abundant and I can have access to a wealth of information. I am thankful to sit under the instruction of a faithful and knowledgeable pastor, to have a Sunday school teacher I constantly learn from, to be granted access to many great books, and for the mind to process information.
New life. Almost two years ago, I had a new niece, Kyndle, born. It has been a joy to watch her grow and develop. Though Jason and I do not have any little ones yet, it is exciting to get to witness friends and family begin their families and we love babies!
God the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. While last on the acrostic (and often, sadly, last in our selfish lives), none of the above would be present without a gracious God. I do not deserve anything, yet am loved by a Father who sent a Son to save a people and gave a Spirit to guide our hearts; for that I am eternally grateful.

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change. James 1:17.

Leave a Reply

