You can’t take it back

A wise person once said that spouting out hurtful words is like squeezing out a whole tube of toothpaste. Just as you can’t take the words back, you can never really get the toothpaste back in the tube. I was painfully reminded of this analogy yesterday as I tried to repair damage I had done with my sharp tongue. Although my intentions were not to hurt the person who I made a sarcastic comment about, all the good intentions in the world can never make up for bad actions. The old playground chant–sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me–is just not true. Words hurt. Scripture repeatedly warns of this fact. Here is one such example: “There is one whose rash words are like sword thrusts, but the tongue of the wise brings healing” Proverbs 12:18. Unfortunately, yesterday I was not one who was wise, but rather was rash like the thrust of a sword and for that I am sorry.

 

Leave a Reply

